News: Shortlists Revealed For Comedy Women In Print Prizes

News: Shortlists Revealed For Comedy Women In Print Prizes.

The Comedy Women in Print Prize 2019 (CWIP) has announced both the Published and Unpublished award shortlists for the award’s first year.

The CWIP Prize was launched by actress, author and stand-up comedian Helen Lederer in response to the lack of exposure for female comedy writing, and as a way of celebrating fresh and established talent.  

The five authors in the Published category are: Sunday Times bestsellers GAIL HONEYMAN (Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine) and GILL SIMS (Why Mummy Swears); joined by hilarious up-and-coming author ASIA MACKAY (Killing It), Young Adult debut writer LAURA STEVEN (The Exact Opposite of Okay); and Singaporean novelist BALLI KAUR JASWAL (Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows).

Shortlisted in the Unpublished category are: screen writer KIRSTY EYRE (Cow Girl), editorial assistant ABIGAIL MANN (The Lonely Fajita), International Development Agency worker HELEN DOYLE (The Ladies’ Guide to Finding Love), country musician LOTTE MULLAN (Love Is Strange), and full-time mum JO LOVETT-TURNER (New Year at The Duck and Grapes).

 The Comedy Women in Print Prize winners will be announced on Wednesday 10thJuly.


Articles on beyond the joke contain affiliate ticket links that earn us revenue. BTJ needs your continued support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.