Recipients Announced for 2023’s Female & Non-Binary Comedians Bursary Programme

Recipients Announced for 2023’s Female & Non-Binary Comedians Bursary Programme

The 99 Club has announced the results of its bursary showcase on Monday night. Two awards of £500 were given to Louise Atkinson and Priya Hall, with three awards of £100 given to Alexandra Haddow, Leila Navabi and Lorna Rose Treen.

The awards were presented after the finalists’ performances. The showcase featured a headline set from 2022’s Bursary Winner Sikisa (as seen on Live at the Apollo, ITV’s Stand Up Sketch Show, and more) and was hosted by MC Juliet Meyers (credits include Mock the Week).

As well as an audience of invited guests & comedy-loving members of the public, a judging panel of top comedy industry professionals were present to allocate the awards. The panel was formed of Kate Stone (Head of Comedy at Vaults Festival), James Woroniecki (Creative Director of The 99 Club), Sarah Henley (Founder of Next Up) and Steve Bennett (Editor of Chortle).

Monday’s showcase is only one element of The 99 Club’s Bursary. As well as finalists receiving financial support for their debut at the world-famous Edinburgh Festival, the programme allows The 99 Club to establish working relationships with both our selected finalists and comedians who applied for the programme.

Past bursary recipients include Sophie Duker, Helen Bauer, Catherine Bohart, Sikisa, Lara Ricote, Sarah Keyworth and Janine Harouni. These previous bursary recipients have gone on from hopeful new talents to appearing on the country’s best loved shows such as Live at the Apollo, Mock the Week, Taskmaster and Comedy Central’s Roast Battle.

The 99 Club is the UK’s largest employer of comedians, and previously has been named London’s Best Comedy Club in the Chortle Awards 10 years running. The Club was also able to support creatives during Covid, paying nearly £200k in fees before returning to our live club nights.

Picture: Giulia Delprato. L-R Lorna Rose Treen, Priya Hall, Leila Navabi, Louise Atkinson, Alexandra Haddow.


Articles on beyond the joke contain affiliate ticket links that earn us revenue. BTJ needs your continued support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.