ISH Edinburgh Comedy Awards Announce Longlist

Alternative Edinburgh Comedy Awards Planned for 2023

The ISH Edinburgh Comedy Awards, an alternative set of awards announced when the long-established Edinburgh Comedy Awards did not have a sponsor, has revealed their long lists for Best Show and Best Newcomer.

A collective of volunteers have seen eligible shows and have chosen a longlist of shows below.  This week the judges will see more shows to choose a shortlist of 5 shows in each category. The shortlists will be announced next Monday, 21st August.  The winners will be announced on Saturday 26th August at the ceremony at The Three Sisters (Maggie's Chamber). Tickets will be available for the 40 minute ceremony shortly.

If you would like to find out more about the awards and even sponsor them, please visit the website..  The ISH Awards (Insert Sponsor Here) are still looking for a sponsor so to get your name on the awards please get in touch through the website - they are looking for a one-off sponsorship of £20k (your name instead of ISH on all publicity) so they can give £10k, £5k and £5k respectively to the winners of Best Show, Best Newcomer and Panel Prize.  Otherwise the trophy is what will count!

Comedy Producer and comedian Sarah Bowles is running the ISH Awards.  Sarah Bowles says ‘We have been blown away by the incredible support the Awards has received from comedians, producers, all the amazing venues that have given the judges comps, and the Edinburgh Comedy Awards themselves who have been so supportive of the process.  We love the Edinburgh Comedy Awards and this idea came about when it looked like they weren't going ahead this year - we are so pleased that they are and are so grateful for their support and we can't wait to hear their nominees next week too. As we all know being judged as well as judging is hard and unscientific, but our main rule was did the show make the audience and/or judge laugh lots on the day we saw it and do we think it could be judged as the best show or the best newcomer on the Fringe.  

That's quite a high bar of course.  Not everyone can win and be nominated, and not being on these lists doesn't mean your show isn't great, we saw a lot of great shows that aren't on this list as we need to keep the list down and make the cut somewhere - and there's always a chance that we saw your on the wrong day for you (doesn't that always happen?!)  What we are saying is this list obviously does not represent by any means the definitive list of what is great at the Fringe, it's just our panel of judges' opinions, and at the end of the day you will hear much better from the streets and word of mouth what to see, always listen to the streets rather than awards and reviews.

The more established Edinburgh Comedy Awards does now have three sponsors. They will be jointly sponsored this year by Sky, DLT Entertainment and The Victoria Wood Foundation. Their shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 23rd August, and the Nominees’ photo-call will be on Thursday 24th August.  The 41st Edinburgh Comedy Awards ceremony will take place on Saturday 26th August.  


  • Aaron Simmons: Baby Steps - Pleasance
  • Aidan Jones: Adult Adoption - Free Festival Counting House
  • Andrew O'Neill: Geburah - Monkey Barrel
  • Ania Magliano: I Can't Believe You've Done This - Pleasance
  • Attack of the 36 Triple-G Woman - Space @ Symposium Hall
  • Cheekykita: An Octopus, The Universe 'n' Stuff - Free Festival The Three Sisters
  • Daniel Kitson: First Thing - Summerhall
  • Dan Tiernan: Going Under - Monkey Barrel
  • David McIver: Small Boy Trapped in a Wellness Retreat - PBH Free Fringe Banshee Labyrinth
  • Ed Byrne: Tragedy Plus Time - Assembly
  • Eric Rushton: Not Too Deep - Free Festival Cabaret Voltaire
  • Frank Skinner: 30 Years of Dirt - Assembly
  • Gareth Mutch: Belter - The Stand
  • Huge Davies: Whodunnit - Pleasance
  • Ian Smith: Crushing - Monkey Barrel
  • Janine Harouni: Man'oushe - Pleasance
  • Jody Kamali: Things We Do for Love - Assembly
  • Julia Masli: ha ha ha ha ha ha ha - Monkey Barrel
  • Laser Kiwi: Rise of the Olive - Assembly
  • Laura Davis: Well Don't Just Stand There Dancing - Monkey Barrel
  • Luke Kempner in Gritty Police Drama: A One-Man Musical - Pleasance
  • Mark Nelson: Bits & Pieces - Monkey Barrel
  • Marjolein Robertson: Marj - The Stand
  • Max and Ivan: Life, Choices - Pleasance
  • MC Hammersmith: Straight Outta Brompton - Monkey Barrel
  • Milo Edwards: Sentimental - Monkey Barrel
  • Paul Currie: Schtoom - Just The Tonic
  • Paul Foot: Dissolve - Underbelly
  • Paul Sinha: Pauly Bengali - The Stand's New Town Theatre
  • Phil Ellis's Excellent Comedy Show - Monkey Barrel
  • Phil Kay: Funny Walks - Just The Tonic
  • Pierre Novellie - Why Are You Laughing? - Monkey Barrel
  • Police Cops: The Musical - Assembly
  • Seymour Mace Does Drawing - The Stand
  • Sid Singh - Free Festival Cabaret Voltaire
  • Stuart Goldsmith: Spoilers - Monkey Barrel


  • Adrian Bliss: Inside Everyone - Pleasance
  • Alexandra Haddow: Not My Finest Hour - Pleasance
  • Alice Cockayne: I Showered Before I Came - Underbelly
  • Andre de Freitas: What If - Pleasance
  • Annabel Marlow: Is This OK? - Pleasance
  • Fiona Ridgewell - PBH Free Fringe Banshee Labyrinth
  • Hannah Camilleri: Lolly Bag - Assembly
  • John Tothill: The Last Living Libertine - Pleasance
  • Kathy Maniura: Objectified - Gilded Balloon
  • Kelly McCaughan: Catholic Guilt - Underbelly
  • Krystal Evans: The Hottest Girl at Burn Camp - Monkey Barrel
  • Lachlan Werner: Voices of Evil - Pleasance
  • Leila Navabi: Composition - Pleasance
  • Lorna Rose Treen: Skin Pigeon - Pleasance
  • Louise Young: Feral - Pleasance
  • Moses Storm: Perfect Cult - Pleasance
  • Paddy Young: Hungry, Horny, Scared - Pleasance
  • Stu Murphy - Debut - Monkey Barrel
  • Tadiwa Mahlunge: Inhibition Exhibition - Pleasance



Articles on beyond the joke contain affiliate ticket links that earn us revenue. BTJ needs your continued support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.